When should a Probate be opened in Nevada?

Posted by:

Information provided by the State Bar of Nevada

As soon as practical following the person’s death.  In Nevada, if the total amount of the deceased person’s assets exceeds $20,000, or if real estate is involved, probate (or administration) will be required and there is normally no reason to delay starting the process.  Nevada law requires a person in possession of the deceased person’s will must “deliver it to the clerk of the district court” within 30 days of the death. If a Probate or Administration of an estate is not required,
how do I inherit a deceased person’s assets?

If there are no real estate holdings and the value of the estate does not exceed $20,000, certain surviving family member(s) or a person entitled to inherit the property from the estate may initiate proceedings 40 days after the death.  Without any court proceeding, these parties may use a form called Affidavit of Entitlement permitting the release of the assets from any person or business holding those assets (such as a bank, stock brokerage company or pension plan  administrator).



About the Author

Mr. Arlint is a tax attorney, he is a partner in the law firm Arlint & Armstrong and President of Arlint CPA. His practice areas include income tax, estate tax, and IRS representations.


  1. ugg ブーツ 通販 本物  January 15, 2014

    is where the most common type of heart モンクレール ダウンベスト メンズ 価格 coronary artery disease, comes in. Coronary artery disease can develop as a result of the buildup of a material called plaque in

  2. isabel marant  January 15, 2014

    When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any way you may take away me from that service? Thanks!
    isabel marant